Information for all parents/carers whose children will be starting school at Arden

Reception Parent starter pack

In Nursery and Reception, the children have many different learning experiences.

There are Three Prime Areas and Four Specific Areas of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Personal Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

  • Sharing/playing together/understanding different cultures and rules

Physical Development (PD)

  • Using tools/dancing/gymnastics and games

Communication and Language (CL)

  • Speaking and listening


Literacy (L)

  • Reading and writing

Mathematics (M)

  • Counting/addition and subtraction/shape and space

Understanding the World (UW)

  • History/geography/ICT/science and RE

Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

  • Music/role-play/storytelling/dancing and art